The Australian Government has seven diplomatic missions in the United States – the embassy in Washington DC and consulates in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Honolulu, New York, Chicago and Houston.

The Australian Embassy and Consulates-General advance Australia's foreign policy, security, international development, trade, investment and business interests in the United States and fosters a strong partnership between the governments and people of Australia and the United States.

A broad range of Australian Government departments are represented, reflecting the strength and diversity of our bilateral relationship. They include the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Department of Defence, Treasury, Department of Industry, Science, Energy and ResourcesDepartment of Home Affairs, Attorney-General's Department, the Australian Trade Commission (Austrade) and Australian National University.