Go to top of page

Australian elections

For up-to-date information on Australian elections, enrolment and voting while overseas, visit the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) website or contact the AEC via email (info@aec.gov.au) or by calling +61 2 6160 2600 or +61 2 6113 4777 (charges may apply).


New South Wales State Election - 23 March 2019

The New South Wales State Election will be held on 23 March 2019. For full information on the election - including details on enrolment and voting while overseas - visit the New South Wales Electoral Commission website.

The Embassy and Australian Consulates-General in the United States will not be offering in-person voting. If you will be outside New South Wales on election day, there are a number of ways you can vote. Further information is available on the 'Other Ways to Vote' page on the New South Wales Electoral Commission website


Australian Federal Election - Date TBA

The date for the 2019 Federal Election has not yet been announced.

The Embassy will be offering in-person early voting. The dates and times that in-person voting will be available will be posted here after the election is announced. Please note that in-person will not be available in Washington on election day, as the polls will have already closed in Australia.

Members of the public will need to provide photo ID in order to gain access to the Embassy but ID is not required to vote.

To be eligible to vote, you must be correctly enrolled. To enrol, check or update your enrolment details, visit https://www.aec.gov.au/Enrolling_to_vote/overseas/index.htm.

For further information on voting while overseas, visit https://www.aec.gov.au/Voting/Ways_to_vote/overseas.htm

If you will be overseas during the election period and unable to vote, you can advise the AEC by completing an Overseas Notification Form. Further information is available at https://www.aec.gov.au/Voting/Ways_to_vote/overseas.htm

For updates and all the latest information on the election, visit the AEC’s website and follow the AEC's Twitter account: @AusElectoralCom.