Go to top of page

About us

Australia in the United States

The Australian Embassy and Consulates-General advances Australia's foreign policy, security, international development, trade, investment and business interests in the United States and fosters a strong partnership between the governments and people of Australia and the United States.

The Australian Government has seven diplomatic missions in the United States – the embassy in Washington DC and consulates in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Honolulu, New York, Chicago and Houston.

A broad range of Australian Government departments are represented, reflecting the strength and diversity of our bilateral relationship. They include the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Department of Defence, Treasury, Department of Industry, Science, Energy and ResourcesDepartment of Home Affairs, Attorney-General's Department, the Australian Trade Commission (Austrade) and Australian National University.

The Embassy promotes Australian culture and offers passport and consular services to Australian citizens living in or visiting the United States. 

The Embassy in Washington DC is Australia's second oldest overseas mission and is temporarily operating out of the National Geographic Museum.

Our presence in the United States