Go to top of page

Panel Pledge



Sign the pledge today!

The Panel Pledge: Gender Balance in Every Forum

Ambassador Arthur Sinodinos AODeputy Chief of Mission Paul Myler and Head of Australian Defence Staff Major General Andrew Freeman AM invite you to join them in actively improving the gender balance on panels, and ensuring diversity of views and experiences from speakers.

Women are not starting from a level playing field. Unless we intentionally put gender at the centre of our actions, we will sleepwalk into a future where existing inequalities are either replicated, or worse, exacerbated.

Elizabeth Broderick AO, Founder and Convenor, Champions of Change Coalition

The Embassy of Australia in Washington DC has pledged to ensure women are equally represented on panels and as speakers at events.

We’ve joined Champions of Change, Chief Executive Women and Women’s Leadership Institute Australia to pledge that whenever we are invited to be involved in or sponsor a panel or conference, we will take steps to ensure gender equity across representatives and participants.

Leaders who take the panel pledge simply:

  1. Make their commitment known
  2. Honour the pledge when invited to speak
  3. Encourage others to take-up the Panel Pledge
  4. Raise the issue of gender balance when the opportunity arises
  5. Actively encourage women’s voices
  6. Don’t accept the excuses.

Join the growing list of leaders who have already pledged to improve women’s representation as speakers:

Diplomatic Corp Business Community Government & Civil Society

Embassy of Australia
Ambassador Arthur Sinodinos
Ambassador Paul Myler
Major General Andrew Freeman
Joanne Smail
Matthew Worrell
Dougal McInnes
Consul General Jane Duke
Ambassador Damien Miller
Consul General Andrea Gleeson
Commodore Mathew Hudson
Andrew Jory
Honorary Consul Don Slesnick
Philippa Brant
Bryony Separovic
Jane van Tienen
Stephanie Chu
James Hall

Champions of Change Coalition
Jeff Kerridge, Maxar
April Palmerlee, AmCham
Trevor C Rowe AO, Rothschild & Co
Alexander Galanos, Vesparum
John Candido, RACV Club
Derek Thomson, PWC 
Kim E Letch, EY
Tracy Smedley, Kitchengroup
Celine Peters, Lowes
Tania Elizabeth Mann, Credit Suisse
Cherylle Morrow, Chez Morrow International LLC
Sue Tame, EY
Josephine Linden, Linden Global Strategies
George Stephen Ramsay, Integrated Lock Systems Au. P/L
Amanda Lacaze, Lynas Rare Earths
Brian Patrick Pezzutti, Specialist in Anaesthesia and Peri-Operatine Care
Nick Nichola, K&L Gates
Daniel Osborne, Manhattan Associates
Raghav Sibal, Manhattan Associates

Elizabeth Broderick, Founder Champions of Change
Amb. John Berry (Ret.), President, American Australian Association
Stephanie Ettinger de Cuba, Children's HealthWatch
Lilia C Navarrete, Women in International Trade
Lily Balatincz, Campbelltown Arts Centre
Shaun Coffey, The Crawford Fund for a Food Secure World
Nick Chapman, San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency
Sheryle Moon, AmCham
Christina Kanagaperumal, The British School in Colombo
Nicola Partridge, New York University
Professor Anna Moore, Australian National University Institute for Space