Contact Us

Contact San Francisco

Telephone: +1 (415) 644 3620

Fax: +1 (415) 536 1982

Hours of operation: 9.00am to 5.00pm, Monday to Friday.

Passport Interview Hours: Walk-in service only, except as below. 9am-1pm. Average wait time: 0–20 minutes.

Note:  Appointments will be essential from 17 Dec to 4 Jan.  We are not currently taking appointments.

Australian visas, immigration, customs and citizenship:  Please visit the Department of Home Affairs website or call the Global Service Centre in Australia on +61 2 6196 0196.  The Consulate-General is unable to provide information on visas, immigration, customs or citizenship.

24-hour Consular Assistance

Outside business hours, Australians requiring emergency consular assistance can call the 24-hour consular emergency helpline free from the US on +61 2 6261 3305 or SMS +61 421 269 080.

During business hours, Australians in the United States requiring consular assistance should contact the Consulate-General.

Office closures

The following public holidays are observed by the Consulate-General and the office will be closed on these dates:

Monday, 1 January: New Year's Day
Monday, 19 February: President's Day
Friday, 30 March: Good Friday
Monday, 2 April: Easter Monday
Monday, 28 May: Memorial Day
Monday, 11 June: Queen's Birthday
Wednesday, 4 July: Independence Day
Monday, 3 September: Labor Day
Thursday, 22 November: Thanksgiving
Friday, 23 November: Day After Thanksgiving
Tuesday, 25 December - Friday 28 December: Christmas break

Our location

Australian Consulate-General
575 Market Street, Suite 1800
San Francisco, CA, 94105