Go to top of page

Contact Washington DC

Contact Us

Contact Australian Embassy, Washington DC

Telephone: +1 (202) 797 3000

Fax: +1 (202) 797 3168

Hours of operation: 8:30am to 5:00pm, Monday to Friday

Passports

Walk-in service only, no appointments.  9.00am - 12.00pm and 2.00pm - 4.00pm, Monday to Friday.  Average wait time: 0–30 minutes.

24-hour Consular Assistance

Outside business hours, Australians requiring emergency consular assistance can call the 24-hour consular emergency helpline free from the US on +61 2 6261 3305 or SMS +61 421 269 080.

During business hours, Australians in the United States requiring consular assistance should contact the Embassy.

Australian visas, immigration, customs and citizenship

Please visit the Department of Home Affairs website or call the Global Service Centre in Australia on +61 2 6196 0196.  The Embassy is unable to provide information on visas, immigration, customs or citizenship.

Office closures

The following public holidays are observed by the Embassy in Washington, DC and the office will be closed on these dates:

Monday, 1 January: New Year's Day
Monday, 19 February: President's Day
Friday, 30 March: Good Friday
Monday, 2 April: Easter Monday
Monday, 28 May: Memorial Day
Wednesday, 4 July: Independence Day
Monday, 3 September: Labor Day
Monday, 8 October: Columbus Day
Thursday, 22 November: Thanksgiving
Friday, 23 November: Day After Thanksgiving
Tuesday, 25 December - Friday 28 December: Christmas break

Our location

Australian Embassy
1601 Massachusetts Avenue, NW
Washington DC, 20036-2273